NSF Faculty Workshop

Incorporating HCI into the Undergraduate CS Curriculum

A Community-Building Initiative

Sponsored by NSF (NSF #DUE-0226080
and the College of Charleston


CofC Home About CofC Academic Programs Library Bookstore Athletics  
This project aims to build a strong, yet diversified community of CS educators interested in incorporating Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) into undergraduate CS curricula. This community will be forged through a four-day workshop and follow-up reflection meetings at SIGCSE 2004 and 2005.  This effort will:
  1. expose a representative group of CS educators to significant HCI issues, educational approaches, and classroom experiences; 
  2. disseminate implementations of the HCI core requirements in ACM/IEEE Computing Curricula 2001
  3. facilitate opportunities for networking and team-building among CS educators; and 
  4. provide the infrastructure to begin addressing the weak HCI preparation among CS graduates.

This project builds on a SIGCSE-2002 special session. It is being conducted in parallel with a special issue of the CS Education Journal on HCI education (vol. 13, no. 3, September 2003).


Workshop: Charleston, SC, May 26 through May 31, 2003.

Reflection Meeting: SIGCSE 2004, Norfolk, Virginia, March 3 - 7, 2004 (details TBA).

Reflection Meeting: SIGCSE 2005, St. Louis, Missouri (details TBA).


Here is a collection of photos from the workshop.

Sarah Douglas, University of Oregon
Arthur (Ted) Kirkpatrick, Simon Fraser University
Laura Leventhal
, Bowling Green State University
Craig Miller
, DePaul University
Bill Manaris, College of Charleston
Renée McCauley
, College of Charleston
Laura Moore, College of Charleston
Christopher Andrews, Knox College
Dennis Bouvier, Saint Louis University
Douglas Dankel II, University of Florida
Charles E. Frank, Northern Kentucky University
Robert Franks, Central College
Mary Granger, George Washington University
Scott Grissom, Grand Valley State University
Thomas Horton, University of Virginia
Hubert Johnson, Montclair State University
Myungsook Klassen, California Lutheran University
Aparna Mahadev, Worcester State College
David R. Naugler, Southeast Missouri State University
Kris Powers, Tufts University
Dean Sanders, Northwest Missouri State University
J. Ben Schafer, University of Northern Iowa
Nan C. Schaller, Rochester Institute of Technology
Christine Shannon, Centre College
Michael Wainer, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Charles Welty, University of Southern Maine
John Wright, Juniata College
The project produced a set of curricular guidelines on introducing HCI courses (and HCI course modules) at different levels of the undergraduate curriculum:

B. Manaris, M. Wainer, A.E. Kirkpatrick, R.H. Stalvey, C. Shannon, L. Leventhal, J. Barnes, J. Wright, J. B. Schafer, D. Sanders, "Implementations of the CC-01 Human-Computer Interaction Guidelines using Bloom's Taxonomy", Computer Science Education Journal 17(1), pp. 21-57, Mar. 2007.